About Us News Center Storm Center Environment Links
NC Co-ops Touchstone Government Affairs Development Community Electricity

<<2012 Press Releases

Statewide competition to test lifesaving skills of electric line workers

poletopRaleigh, N.C. (Oct. 23)—North Carolina’s top electric cooperative line workers will assemble in Raleigh on the morning of Tuesday, Oct. 30 to determine the 2012 Pole Top Rescue Champions. This competition pits line workers against the clock and each other as they demonstrate essential lifesaving skills. Each competitor had to win a local competition in order to advance to the championship in Raleigh.

The event will be hosted on the lawn of the Raleigh office for North Carolina’s electric cooperatives. The building is located at the intersection of Capital and Sumner Boulevards. The competition begins at 9 a.m. with 26 local cooperative champions competing to secure one of the top spots. You can also follow along live on Twitter: @ncpoleclimb.

At the Pole Top Rescue competition, a line worker must perform in a scenario which finds a fellow worker unconscious atop a utility pole. The competitor, dressed in full climbing gear, must radio for help, scale 20-feet up a utility pole, rig a rope, lower a 105-pound mannequin and begin CPR. Previous winners have completed the competition in less than two minutes. There will be two competition categories this year, each receiving prizes for first, second and third place.

The scenario used at the pole top rescue competition is the same scenario all of North Carolina electric cooperative line workers must perform in less than five minutes in order to maintain their certification to work on co-op lines. 

North Carolina’s electric cooperatives provide energy to 2.5 million people in 93 of 100 counties, primarily in the rural parts of state. The electric cooperatives own and maintain 95,000 miles of power lines.

The list below will provide you with the names of participants, the electric cooperative the participant works for and the counties served by that co-op. The list reflects the order of competition, which begins at 9 a.m.


Electric Cooperative

Counties Served

Cory Lawrence

Wake EMC

Granville, Vance, Durham, Wake, Johnston, Nash, Franklin

Shay Reed


Alexander, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, Guilford, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Stokes, Yadkin, Wilkes

Jarrod Norris

Jones-Onslow EMC

Lenoir, Jones, Onslow, Duplin, Pender, Craven

Chris Griffin

Union Power

Mecklenburg, Union, Cabarrus, Rowan, Stanly

Matthew Byrum

Albemarle EMC

Chowan, Perquimans, Pasquotank, Camden, Currituck

Carl Greene

Halifax EMC

Warren, Halifax, Martin, Nash

Kenny Simmons

Pee Dee EMC

Anson, Richmond, Montgomery, Scotland, Moore, Stanly, Union

Danny Lee

Randolph EMC

Randolph, Alamance, Chatham, Montgomery, Moore

Harris Morrison

Central EMC

Chatham, Harnett, Lee, Moore, Randolph

Chuck Nance

Brunswick EMC

Columbus, Brunswick Bladen, Robeson

Matthew Neal

Tideland EMC

Beaufort, Craven, Dare, Hyde, Pamlico, Washington

Timmy Williams

South River EMC

Harnett, Cumberland, Sampson, Bladen, Johnston

Jonathan Long

Carteret-Craven EC

Carteret, Craven, Jones, Onslow

Brantley Lawrence

Pitt & Greene EMC

Pitt, Greene, Lenoir, Wayne, Wilson, Edgecombe

Ben Hurley

Blue Ridge EMC

Ashe, Alleghany, Wilkes, Watauga, Caldwell, Alexander, Avery

Jason Worley

French Broad EMC

Madison, Buncombe, Yancey, Mitchell

Freddy White

Four County EMC

Duplin, Sampson, Bladen, Pender, Columbus, Onslow

Brian Noland

Haywood EMC

Haywood, Buncombe, Transylvania, Jackson, Madison, Macon

Brent Talley

Piedmont EMC

Alamance, Caswell, Durham, Granville, Orange, Person

Leonard Person

Tri-County EMC

Wayne, Duplin, Lenoir, Johnston, Jones, Sampson, Wilson

Justin Collins

Surry-Yadkin EMC

Wilkes, Surry, Yadkin, Stokes, Forsyth

Scott Murray

Rutherford EMC

Rutherford, McDowell, Polk, Cleveland, Burke, Caldwell, Catawba, Lincoln, Gaston, Mitchell

Charles Bryant

Roanoke EC

Hertford, Bertie, Gates, Northampton, Halifax, Chowan, Perquimans

Richard Augustson

Cape Hatteras EC


Chad Bryant

Edgecombe-Martin County EMC

Nash, Edgecombe, Martin, Pitt, Beaufort, Bertie, Halifax, Wilson

Mike Jones

Lumbee River EMC

Hoke, Cumberland, Robeson, Scotland




youtube instagram facebook